); ga('require', 'displayfeatures'); ga('require', 'linkid'); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('send', 'pageview');

Latest News

Home » Amonett Takes $5000 to Win Crown Jewel Event at Baer Field Motorsports Park

Amonett Takes $5000 to Win Crown Jewel Event at Baer Field Motorsports Park

Jeff Kid Photo

New Castle, Indiana’s Ryan Amonett held off fellow New Castle native Jason Atkinson to get the win in the Crown Jewel 60 Saturday night at Baer Field Motorsports Park. The win was worth a cool $5000 and a crown to show off the win in victory lane for his first ever Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks series win.

“Man, this is really cool,” remarked a very excited Amonett in victory lane. “We got out front and had a really good car, but I could see Jason (Atkinson) back there on my tail. I knew if I made a mistake, he would get by me. I have to thank Scott and all my crew, they worked really hard in the off season to put a new body on this car and get it fast. Thanks to all our fans and our sponsors for supporting us and to Baer Field for putting on this great event!”

Local competitor Chad Richardson jumped out to the lead from his Pole starting position, but Amonett hung tight on the outside before making the pass to grab the lead on lap two. From there Amonett had to fight off Atkinson on three restarts, which he did each time to lead the final 59 laps to get the win. Atkinson would finish in second with Jake McElfresh in third for a CRA sweep of the podium spots.

Fast Qualifier Jacob Bradley was the top finishing Baer Field regular in fourth place, coming from his 19th place starting position to get that finish. Fellow Ft. Wayne native Austin Coe, who competed in three CRA events as part of the Crown Jewel Weekend, finished in fifth place. Southern Indiana native Marcus Elliott was sixth, while Baer Field regulars Ryan McIntyre, Joe Muldoon, Jesse Oplinger and Bobby Comer finished seventh through tenth.

The feature line-up was assembled by finishes of six very competitive 10 lap heat races on Friday night. Heat race winners included Richardson, Amonett, Zach Henderson, Jeff Lane, Atkinson and Elliott. 30 cars took the green flag in Saturday’s 60 lap non-points main event.

The next Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks event will be this Sunday at the Indianapolis Speedrome, were the series will kick off its 2019 Four Crown Series with a 200-lap event. More information on all the CRA Series is available at www.cra-racing.com.