Latest News

Home » Asphalt Tracks » Casey Johnson Wins Big 8 Late Model Series Main Event To Open The 2021 Season At Slinger Speedway

Casey Johnson Wins Big 8 Late Model Series Main Event To Open The 2021 Season At Slinger Speedway

Audio Version Of This Article
Share This:
Casey Johnson Wins Big 8 Late Model Series Main Event To Open The 2021 Season At Slinger Speedway
Photo credit: Bob Schneider Jr Photo | Sleeveless Bob Photography


By Dan Margetta

Slinger, Wis., April 25—Casey Johnson fended off a serious challenge by Slinger Late Model Track Champion Jacob Nottestad in the closing laps to win the season-opening 88-lap Big 8 Late Model Series feature Sunday afternoon at the Slinger Super Speedway.

Nottestad pressured Johnson mightily following a late caution set up following a hard crash into the turn one wall by fourth place Jeff Holtz as he and third running Dale Nottestad battled amidst heavy lapped traffic. Johnson was able to turn back Jacob Nottestad’s challenges and he drove to the victory, capturing the elusive trophy he had promised to his young daughter since last November.

Casey Johnson
Photo credit: Bob Schneider Jr Photo | Sleeveless Bob Photography

“I knew Jake (Nottestad) was going to be really strong and he ran me super clean,” Johnson stated from victory lane, “I always liked running on the high side here as you can keep your momentum up and it didn’t really seem too bad to me.”

“I’ll be back here to try to win the Slinger Nationals,” Johnson continued,” I hear the winner of that gets an SRX ride.”

The Superstar Racing Experience (SRX) Series is a new six race summer series established by NASCAR Hall of Famers Tony Stewart and Ray Evernham featuring well known national drivers and the series’ July 10th Slinger Speedway race offers an invitation to the winner of the prestigious WABAM Slinger Nationals on July 6th.

“I’m glad we got that last caution,” Jacob Nottestad said afterwards, “it gave me a shot at least but we just couldn’t capitalize.”

“This is probably the best car I have had here at Slinger despite finishing second,” Nottestad continued, “and the competition here is so good but we’re excited about the quick time and new track record.”

Rockford Speedway Big 8 Late Model Series winner Dale Nottestad finished third and afterwards described what he saw in the late race incident that set up the final run to the checkered flag.

“It was pretty scary in lapped traffic and I didn’t know where they were going to go,” Nottestad said, “ and I hate that (Jeff) Holtz got involved in that. We were good but were just a tick off those two (Johnson and J. Nottestad) but I’ll take it.”

John Reynolds Jr. finished in fourth place ahead of Ryan Gutknecht in fifth. Tom Berens drove to a sixth place finish ahead of Jerry Mueller and Max Kahler in seventh and eighth place respectively. Tyler Hromadka and Randy Sargent rounded out the top ten finishers.

Big 8 Late Model Series heat races were won by Dale Nottestad, Jeff Holtz, and Nick Egan while Jacob Nottestad set fast time by setting a new track record at 11.904 seconds.

Dale Lecus Jr. won the 35-lap sportsman feature over Paul Wagner and Bobby Gutknecht. Andrew Meyerhofer finished fourth and Dennis Prunty drove a car owned by Chris Ratajczyk to a fifth place finish. Joey Pontbriand and Bobby Gutknecht were the winners of the sportsman heat races while Paul Wagner topped qualifying with a lap at 12.679 seconds.

Tyler Schley was the winner of the 30-lap modified main event as he was chased to the checkered flag by Bill Prietzel. Bill Tandetzke crossed the finish line in third place followed by Carl Benn and Denny Schott in fourth and fifth respectively. Denny Schott won the modified heat race and Bill Prietzel was the fastest qualifier after turning a lap in 12.427 seconds.

Todd Buckley topped the 25-lap Super Beez feature besting Zach Greer for the win. Dale Kiley-Schaefer was third ahead of Brandon Tackes and Jakob Hassler in fourth and fifth. Dale Kiley-Schaefer and Zach Greer each won a Super Beez heat race and Todd Buckley was the fastest qualifier with a lap at 13.627.

The 25-lap Slinger Bees feature was won by Tom Elsinger Jr. over Brady Held and Misty Benn. Brandon Mennicke finished fourth while Rickey Gebhard was fifth. The Slinger Bees heat races were won by Tom Elsinger Jr. and Misty Benn while Paul Reagles topped qualifying with a lap of 15.330 seconds.

Bill Shavlik won the Figure 8 main event to close out the afternoon over Rick Bruskiewicz and Shane Becker.

Casey Johnson
Photo credit: Bob Schneider Jr Photo | Sleeveless Bob Photography
Casey Johnson
Photo credit: Bob Schneider Jr Photo | Sleeveless Bob Photography



88 laps | 00:00:00

111Casey JohnsonEdgerton, WI5J
212Jacob NottestadStoughton, WI97N
34Dale NottestadCambridge, WI2N
45Jon Reynolds JrRockford, IL10R
52Ryan GutknechtOak Creek, WI01G
69Tom BerensSlinger, WI99B
76Jerry MuellerRichfield, WI49M
810Max KahlerCaledonia, IL17K
97Tyler HromadkaColgate, WI3H
1016Randy SargentSouth Beloit, IL11S
1118Mike LloydDavis, IL21L
1215Jerry EckhardtJohnson Creek, WI61E
131Jacob VanoskeyHartford, WI84V
1417Zach BraunSlinger, WI30B
1514Willie NelsonSolon Mills, IL25N
163Nick EganSlinger, WI13E
1719Grant BrownPrior Lake, MN14B
1821Jeff WakemanStreator, IL91W
1922Bill ShavlikWest Bend, WI1S
20 (DNF)8Jeff HoltzFranksville, WI38H
21 (DNF)13Mitchell HaverWest Bend, WI7H
22 (DNF)20Hunter DrefahlEvansville, WI007D



25 laps | 00:00:00

18Todd BuckleyWest Bend, WI8B
27Zach GreerSlinger, WI44G
33Dale Kiley-SchaeferWest Bend, WI88K
46Brandon TackesWest Bend, WI24B
54Jakob HasslerColgate, WI4H
62Andrew GartzkeColgate, WI61G
710Mitchell StrobelIron Ridge, WI14M
811Travis ScheidWest Bend, WI28S
9 (DNF)5Al StrobelIron Ridge, WI14S
10 (DNF)1Colin SaegertTheresa, WI28C
11 (DNF)9Derek HoerigGermantown, WI70H



10 laps | 00:00:00

16Bill ShavlikWest Bend, WI0S
27Rick BruskiewiczMayville, WI17B
31Shane BeckerHartford, WI20B
42Eli GoreckiElkhorn, WI83G
53Chris NeumannMuskego, WI61N
64Nick OstbergWest Bend, WI1O
75Ryan LovaldMuskego, WI67L



35 laps | 00:00:00

11Dale Lecus, Jr.Caledonia, WI99L
25Paul WagnerIron Ridge, WI53W
33Bobby GutknechtOak Creek, WI10G
44Andrew MeyerhoferMenasha, WI14M
59Dennis PruntyKnowles, WI88P
67Joey PontbriandNorway, MI7P
78Dan CalhounJohnsburg, IL4C
810Chris BeineSlinger, WI18B
92Nick OstbergWest Bend, WI1O
106Ryan SielaffNorth Prairie, WI32S
11Simon SeyfertSaukville, WI9S



30 laps | 00:00:00

15Tyler SchleyRichfield, WI6T
26Bill PrietzelRichfield, WI1P
34Bill TandetzkeMilwaukee, WI11T
42Carl BennLISBON, WI01B
3Denny SchottMauston, WI3S
7Kevin SeidlerKendall, WI5S
1Nick OstbergWest Bend, WI03O



25 laps | 00:00:00

12Tom Elsinger JrWest Bend, WI23E
27Brady HeldIron Ridge, WI04H
33Misty BennMenomonee Falls, WI19B
413Brandon MennickeSlinger, WI11M
56Ricky GebhardOconomowoc, WI10G
68Billy BraunWales, WI31B
71Mitchell StrobelIron Ridge, WI14M
812Jason ClopeJanesville, WI3C
94Tracy NeuIron Ridge, WI15N
109Travis KreuserWest Bend, WI20K
1111Dylan LembergerMenomonee Falls, WI52L
12 10Paul ReaglesColgate, WI25R
13 5Marty TackesWest Bend, WI24M
1414Kendall BeckerHartford, WI20X
15Scott EmrichMilwaukee, WI21E
16Kevin LentzJuneau, WI8L
17Al StrobelIron Ridge, WI14S

Photo credit: Bob Schneider Jr Photo | Sleeveless Bob Photography

By Dan Margetta | Slinger Speedway


100% Local Oval Track Racing News From Across North America