Latest News

Home » Oval Track News Blog » CRA Street Stocks

CRA Street Stocks

Share This:

Amonett Races to Four Crown Win at Mt. Lawn Speedway

CRA Street Stocks

CRA Street Stocks

By Gib Chew

Amonett Races to Four Crown Win at Mt. Lawn Speedway

New Castle, IN (July 28, 2019) – The Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS racers stormed into Mt Lawn Speedway for the postponed Bob Fields Memorial 200 on Sunday, July 28th were New Castle, Indiana driver Ryan Amonett led all 200 laps but never had a lead of more than 1.5 seconds any-time during the race, Jason Thompson finished in second with Phil Jenkins a close third. The event was the second race of the Four Crown mini-series for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks.

“Finally got this race in!” Amonett exclaimed from Victory Lane.  “This is two races in row that we have been to that we have won.  I have to thank everyone for racing clean, Jeff Lane, Jason Atkinson and Jason Thompson were great to race with. We are a low budget team and a win like this really helps.”

Bob Fields is synonymous with racing in central Indiana, dominating the short tracks for decades and is one of winningest drivers in Mt Lawn Speedway’s long history.  He raced hard on the track and helped many drivers make it to the track each week by sponsoring many of them through Fields Auto Parts. Sunday was the fourth attempt to have the Bob Fields Memorial 200 at Mt. Lawn Speedway. Weather had stopped the event from taking place twice in 2018 and this past May.

Jenkins took the All-Star Performance Fast Qualifier Award and drew a six for the invert putting Amonett on the pole with Lane on the outside of the front row.  Jumping out the lead at the drop of the green flag, Amonett drove a flawless race, he was challenged by Lane, Atkinson, and Thompson with each of them racing on Amonett’s bumper at some point during the 200 lap grind. For leading all 200 laps and holding back all challengers, Amonett was awarded the KRJ Race Products Sweet Move of the Race Award. Amonett is the first driver to have two wins with the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks in 2019.

Trading second place, Lane fell back to third at the start, regained second on a restart, and kept within striking distance but could not get past Amonett.  On a restart at lap 109, Lane had a suspension problem and was forced to pull off, leaving Thompson to chase Amonett. 

Jenkins had worked his way to third by the halfway break had to restart on the tail due to a problem during the break.  He worked his way back to third and was faster than the leaders the last several laps but could not catch them as the laps ran out. For his efforts in racing back through the field, Jenkins was awarded the AR Bodies Cool Move of the Race Award.

This is the longest race at Mt. Lawn in over 25 years.  “No one knew how to pace themselves for 200 laps here.”  Thompson stated. “So, we all just did what we had to do.”

The next race on the schedule for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS will be this Sunday August 4th at Kil-Kare Raceway in Xenia, OH. 

More information on all the CRA Series is available at


100% Local Oval Track Racing News From Across North America