Latest News

Home » Asphalt Tracks » VanDyke has Another Record-setting Night at Kingsport Speedway

VanDyke has Another Record-setting Night at Kingsport Speedway

Share This:

Kres VanDyke continues to re-write the record books at Kingsport Speedway
Kingsport Speedway Photo

VanDyke has Another Record-setting Night at Kingsport Speedway

By: Jeff Birchfield

KINGSPORT (October 9th, 2020) — Kres VanDyke continues to re-write the record books at Kingsport Speedway.

The Abingdon, Va., driver extended his record with a 14th consecutive Late Model Stock victory on the 3/8-mile concrete track. It was his 15th win overall, breaking the previous record for overall wins in a single season set by his sometime crew chief Wade Day in 2000.

VanDyke had to work hard the first part of the 60-lap feature. He drove his red No. 15 Chevrolet to the lead after a lap 17 caution. Once out front, there was no getting back by VanDyke, who has wrapped up his third track championship.

Hayden Woods took second place in his No. 6 Chevy after battling much of the race with Nik Williams. Mechanical issues plagued Williams, who suddenly slowed and pulled into the pits. In his absence, Woods motored to the runner-up spot.

Brad Housewright, who started on the pole, finished third. He and Wayne Hale ran side-by-side the opening two laps before Housewright took the lead. Housewright stayed up front until a nudge by Hale’s Toyota allowed both Hale and Woods to get by.

Housewright recovered to finish third in his Chevy with Hale fourth. Keith Helton in a Ford rounded out the top five.


Kyle Barnes and Derek Lane thrilled the speedway crowd with an exciting battle for the lead. With $500 going to the winner of the race, Barnes found his way out front with the No. 00 Chevrolet.

Barnes reached double digits with his 10th win of the season. Lane raced to the runner-up finish with Rusty Clendenin, Jenna Wagner and Austin Brooks in the third through fifth positions.


Kevin Canter kept his perfect record for the season intact, capturing his 12th win, but it didn’t come easy.

Canter was driving his grandfather Hershell Robinette’s No. 9 Ford for the second straight week as his own No. 3 car undergoes repairs. Canter made his winning pass of second-place Dennis Arnold with just three circuits remaining in the 30-lap race.

Arnold motored on to finish second with Billy Duty, Tristen Barnes and Chris Amburgey the rest of the top five.


Kenny Absher worked his way around John Ketron for the lead and later held off his teammate Billy Byington to capture his fourth win of the season.

Byington strengthened his grip on the track points lead with his second-place finish. Ketron took third with Bucky Smith fourth and Craig Phelps fifth.


Rob Austin held off Tony Dockery to take his fourth win of the 2020 campaign. Dockery rolled on to finish second. Jay Swecker was third, while Billy Walters and Brian Eggers comprised the rest of the top five.

Championship night will be set for Friday, October 16th.



Kres VanDyke continues to re-write the record books at Kingsport Speedway
Kingsport Speedway Photo


  1. Kres VanDyke #15
  2. Hayden Woods #6
  3. Brad Housewright #88
  4. Wayne Hale #19
  5. Keith Helton #97
  6. Rick Pannell #33
  7. Robbie Henry #11
  8. Nik Williams #32
  9. Matt Smith #27
  10. Chris Meade #9
  11. Chris Tunnell #57
  12. Allen Hawkins #14
  13. Chase Dixon #07

SPORTSMAN (40 laps)

  1. Kyle Barnes #00
  2. Derek Lane #28
  3. Rusty Clendenin #27
  4. Jenna Wagner #75
  5. Austin Brooks #9
  6. Jonathan Worley #14
  7. Kevin Wolfe #17
  8. Chris Tunnell #6
  9. Kevin Darnell #4
  10. Haley Baer #42
  11. Kirby Gobble #88
  12. Luke Fox #94


  1. Kenny Absher #11
  2. Billy Byington #11B
  3. John Ketron #26
  4. Bucky Smith #99X
  5. Craig Phelps #00
  6. Keith Helton #29
  7. Bruce Crumbley #33
  8. Jason Haribans #12
  9. Josh Detwiler #38D
  10. David Trent #57
  11. Paul Stanley #40
  12. William Hale #47
  13. Chad Jeffers #38
  14. Jeff Hess #48
  15. Brayden Powers #0
  16. James Hicks #71
  17. Frank Peters #7
  18. Jay Clendenin #5
  19. Tony Casteel #4
  20. Caleb Hensley #52
  21. Mark Campbell #14
  22. Chap Slaughter #25
  23. Herb Campbell #26C
  24. Steve Skeen #27S
  25. Keith Jackson #16
  26. Kelly Francis #18
  27. Brandon Sutherland #25S

MOD 4 (25 laps)

  1. Kevin Canter #9
  2. Dennis Arnold #71
  3. Billy Duty #2
  4. Tristen Barnes #15
  5. Chris Amburgey #7
  6. Teddy Glover #45
  7. Brian Ellis #28
  8. Bobby Talbert #67
  9. Jerry Miller #1

PURE STREET (20 laps)

  1. Rob Austin #18
  2. Tony Dockery #05
  3. Jay Swecker #77
  4. Billy Walters #28
  5. Brian Eggers #27
  6. Brandon Yarbor #17
  7. Ricky Payne #1

Article By: Jeff Birchfield

Next Race: October 16

For more information on Kingsport Speedway, visit our website at –

Fresh content and updates can also be found on the tracks Facebook page (@KingsportSpeedway), Twitter (@KpSpeedway), Instagram (@KingsportSpeedway), Snapchat (@KptSpeedway), and YouTube (@KingsportSpeedway)

About Kingsport Speedway

Kingsport Speedway has provided race fans in the Tri-Cities, Tennessee and surrounding areas with exciting short track racing since 1965. The speedway has undergone four surface changes in its 50 plus years of existence. Founded as a dirt track in 1965, the facility transitioned to an asphalt track in 1969, back to dirt track in 1984, and then to its current concrete surface in 1996. In 1968, Kingsport Speedway hosted its first NASCAR event. Currently, Kingsport Speedway is part of the NASCAR Advanced Auto Parts Weekly Series, NASCAR’s grassroots series. NASCAR sanctions nearly 60 racetracks throughout the United States and Canada in which drivers compete for national, state, and track titles. For more information on Kingsport Speedway, visit Also follow Kingsport Speedway on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Championship night will be set for Friday, October 16th

By: Jeff Birchfield

Share This:


100% Local Oval Track Racing News From Across North America