Latest News

Home » Dirt Tracks » Lucas Oil Speedway plays host to 11th annual USMTS Show-Me Shootout this Saturday

Lucas Oil Speedway plays host to 11th annual USMTS Show-Me Shootout this Saturday

Share This:
Lucas Oil Speedway

Lucas Oil Speedway plays host to 11th annual USMTS Show-Me Shootout this Saturday

By: Lyndal Scranton

WHEATLAND, MO. (August 3, 2020) – After a spectacular mid-week show earlier this summer, the United States Modified Touring Series makes its traditional August return to Lucas Oil Speedway this Saturday.

The 11th annual Slick Mist Show-Me Shootout Presented by Foley Equipment will headline a big night of action with $3,000 going to the winner of the feature. Also in action will be the Ozark Golf Cars USRA B-Mods, O’Reilly Auto Parts Street Stocks and a special guest class – the USRA Stock Cars with a $400-to-win feature.

“The USRA Stock cars put on a good show when they were on the mid-week program with the USMTS back in June and we’re excited to have them back,” Lucas Oil Speedway General Manager Danny Lorton said. “Along with the B-Mods and Street Stocks, this will be an outstanding night of racing.”

Tanner Mullens of Wichita, Kansas earned his first career USMTS feature win at Lucas Oil Speedway on June 3, taking command when race leader Terry Phillips suffered a mechanical issue with four laps remaining. In the USRA Stock car main event, Doug Keller of Easton, Missouri, used a last-lap pass in turn four to overtake Bill Crimmins for the win.

Dereck Ramirez of Woodward, Oklahoma, earned the Show-Me Shootout victory at Lucas Oil Speedway one year ago. Ramirez has four series wins in 2020 and enters this week second in the championship chase, 114 points behind Rodney Sanders of Happy, Texas. Sanders has six feature wins this season, pushing his career total to 103.

In the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s standings, Jason Hughes is third, followed by Hunter Marriott, Zack VanderBeek, Tyler Davis, Calvin Iverson, Phillips, Casey Skyberg and Adam Kates. Davis holds a 21-point advantage over Iverson in the Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year standings with Skyberg, Tanner Mullens and Nathan Hagar completing the top five in rookie points heading into this week’s tripleheader.

USMTS action gets going Thursday at the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas, followed by the 14th Annual USMTS Summer Fling at the Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, Kansas, on Friday.

Additional details about both series, including schedules, point standings and archived news, can be found at and
Gates open on Saturday at 4 p.m. with hot laps at 6:30 and racing at 7:05.

Along with regular ticket options, fans have the “Beat the Heat and Get a Suite” opportunity with individual tickets $40. Spectators can sit in air-conditioned comfort or view the action from seats outside, overlooking the front stretch. Contact admissions director Nichole McMillan (417) 282-5984 for more info.

Adults (62 and over) $20
Seniors (62 and over)/Military $17
Youth (ages 6-15) $10

Kids (5 and under) FREE

Family Pass $40

Pit Pass $40

Individual suite ticket $40

For ticket questions or information for any event at Lucas Oil Speedway, contact Admissions Director Nichole McMillan at (417) 282-5984 or email her at for more information.

By: Lyndal Scranton

Share This:


100% Local Oval Track Racing News From Across North America