Latest News

Home » Asphalt Tracks » All Eyes Turn Towards Meridian’s Idaho 208

All Eyes Turn Towards Meridian’s Idaho 208

Audio Version Of This Article
Share This:
Meridian Speedway

All Eyes Turn Towards Meridian’s Idaho 208

By Seth Blanton

Photo Credit: Tyler’s Takes

As the Northwest Super Late Model Tour takes a few weeks off before their next event, all eyes turn to Meridian Speedway (Meridian, ID) and the 2021 running of the “Napa Auto Parts Idaho 208”. This event started in 2015 as the then K&N Pro Series West event running 208 laps around the tight ¼ mile bullring, paying homage to the state and its area code.

Meridian Speedway

Since the first running, the Idaho 208 has done its part in helping further the careers of its competitors. The inaugural event was won by current NASCAR Xfinity series driver Noah Gragson, in his Jefferson Pitts Racing #7. 2016’s event was won by Todd Gilliland, a current Front Row Motorsports NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver. The trend continued in 2017 with Micheal Self, a multi time winner on the ARCA Menards National Series. 2018 marked the first female to win in the K&N West series, as Halie Deegan made a last lap pass for the win. Derek Kraus kept the 208 within the Bill McAnally Racing stables. Kraus is currently running for BMR in the truck series.

In 2020, the Idaho 208 turned from what is now the ARCA West series event, to a NAPA Big 5 Late Model Event. 25 Super Late Models from all over the west took the green flag, marking the largest field in event history. When the checkered flag flew it was Jeremy Doss, one of the hottest Late Model drivers in the country, taking home the win.

This year’s Idaho 208 will pay the winner $20,000! Can one of Meridian’s local drivers finally break through and pick up the win, or will it be another up and comer taking home the money? Will we see a veteran driver add another trophy to the case, or will we see a first time winner?

On Friday August 27th, teams will qualify, with the top four transferring directly into the Main Event. The rest of the field will have to race their way in, through one of two 25 lap qualifying mains. On Saturday August 28th a Last Chance Qualifier will be held if needed. Once the field is set, the teams will compete in the seventh running of the Idaho 208!

Some of the names entered in the Super Late Model field includes “The Legend” and seven-time Northwest touring series champion Garrett Evans in his famous #64. 2018 SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series Champion, and defending race winner Jeremy Doss, has thrown his name in the hat. Up and coming 2020 Stateline Speedway Pro Late Model Champion Haeden Plybon will be looking for the biggest win of his career, after taking two victories in the Northwest Super Late Model Series in 2021. Those drivers will be joining local favorites such as 60-time feature winner Zachary Telford, 2021 “Treasure Valley 125” winner John Newhouse, and former Meridian Speedway Track Champion Dylan Caldwell, in his Hotbox Farms #40.

If that isn’t enough Late Model action, the support classes include Super Pro Late Models, with the Tri State Late Model rules, the local Coors Big 12 Pro Late Models, and the young guns in the Mulders Auto Machine Junior Late Models. The Super Pro Late Model field is just as stacked, with a great mix of local and visiting teams. Tri-State Late Model, and local fan favorite Dan Lowther, will look to double down in the “YMC 75” Super Pro Late race as well as the “NAPA Auto Parts Idaho 208” feature. He will be challenged by the #96 of Aubree Cristiani, who has turned heads over the Northwest this season.

Get your tickets now at! If you cannot make this year’s event, tune into FloRacing for high quality Flag to Flag broadcast coverage.

Photo Credit: Tyler’s Takes

By Seth Blanton | Northwest Super Late Model Tour


100% Local Oval Track Racing News From Across North America