Latest News

Home » Oval Track News Blog » NASCAR Whelen All-American Kingsport Speedway

NASCAR Whelen All-American Kingsport Speedway

Three are repeat winners, two get first of season at Kingsport Speedway

Kingsport Speedway

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series at Kingsport Speedway

Three are repeat winners, two get first of season at Kingsport Speedway


KINGSPORT, Tenn. (September 7th, 2019) – For the third week in a row, championship leaders Nik Williams and Zeke Shell finished 1-2 in Friday’s featured Late Model Stock race for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series at Kingsport Speedway.

After an inversion of top-six qualifiers, Williams in the No. 32 Chevrolet started fourth on the 3/8-mile concrete oval. He moved to the front on lap 9, taking the lead from Derek Lane coming off turn four.

Ronnie McCarty, who started sixth after setting the fastest time in qualifying, moved to second place on lap 14. With a caution period for debris bunching up the field on lap 41, Williams and McCarty battled side-by-side for the lead over the next three laps. Williams pinched McCarty up against the wall on lap 44, which allowed Williams to get away and Shell’s No. 1 Ford to get by McCarty’s No. 5 Ford for second place. Williams raced on to capture his division-leading seventh win of the season. The 21-year-old Chuckey driver extended his lead in the track championship standings to 11 points over Johnson City driver Shell with one race to go.

McCarty finished third, followed by his teammate Lance Gatlin and Lane.


Kevin Canter won for the 16th time in 17 starts in the Mod 4 division. The Abingdon, Virginia driver in the black No. 3 Ford finished 1.266 seconds ahead of runner-up Chris Amburgey to wrap up his fourth consecutive track championship.

Billy Duty finished third as Hershell Robinette and Jesse Amburgey rounded out the top five.

Tony Dockery of Dungannon, Va., drove the No. 05 Camaro to his fourth Pure Street win in the last five races. Jay Swecker wound up second to match his best finish of the season. Gene Griffey was third, followed by points leader Doug Austin and Bruce Blessing.


Rusty Clendenin passed Colby Higgins for the lead on lap 4 of the Modified Street feature and led the rest of the 30-lap race.

It was the first win of the season for the Church Hill driver behind the wheel of the No. 27 Camaro. Points leader Kevin Wolfe ran runner-up after Trey Lane fell out with mechanical issues. Paul Shull, the 78-year-old veteran from Church Hill, finished third with Higgins fourth and Luke Fox fifth.

Rogersville racer Josh Detwiler scored his first win in the Pure 4 division. Kenny Absher was right behind Detwiler in second. Keith Helton wrapped the track championship with a solid third-place run. Billy Byington came across the line in fourth and Bucky Smith rounded out the top five.


NASCAR “Richmond Gear” Championship Night is set for Friday, Sept. 13. Track champions will be crowned in the Late Model, Modified Street and Pure Street divisions.



FRIDAY, SEP 6, 2019 –



1. Nik Williams #32-Chuckey, TN
2. Zeke Shell #1-Johnson City, TN
3. Ronnie McCarty #5-Kingsport, TN
4. Lance Gatlin #51-Jefferson City, TN
5. Derek Lane #28-Kingsport, TN
6. Wayne Hale #19-Bluff City, TN
7. Allen Hawkins #14-Kingsport, TN
8. Rick Pannell #33-Kingsport, TN
9. Trey Lane #57-Kingsport, TN
10. Chris Meade #9-Big Stone Gap, VA
11. Austin Peters #66-Kingsport, TN


1. Rusty Clendenin #27
2. Kevin Wolfe #17
3.Paul Shull #48
4. Colby Higgins #99
5. Luke Fox #94
6. Richard Adkins #73
7. Bryan Young #13
8. Trey Lane #9
9. Daniel McMurray #0?

PURE 4 (30 laps)

1. Josh Detwiler #38D
2. Kenny Absher #11
3. Keith Helton #9
4. Billy Byington #11B
5. Bucky Smith #99X
6. William Hale #47
7. Josh Collins #77
8. Lance Pratt #51
9. Craig Phelps #00
10. David Trent #57
11. Chris Stine #10
12. Justin Hartsock #6
13. Paul Stanley #40
14. Jason Haribans #48
15. Caleb Hensley #52
16. Larry Stapleton #15
17. Billy Walters #4
18. Brian Eggers #20
19. Greg McCoy #4M
20. Todd Duff #16
21. Josh Trinkle #68
22. Kelly Francis #18
23. Chad Jeffers #38
24. Tim Jennings #16J
25. Jeff Hess #48H
26. Bruce Crumbley #33

MOD 4 (20 laps)

1. Kevin Canter #3
2. Chris Amburgey #17
3. Billy Duty #2
4. Hershell Robinette #9
5. Jessie Amburgey #7
6. Joey Amburgey #17A
7. Mark Chapman #1

PURE STREET (25 laps)

1. Tony Dockery #05
2. Jay Swecker #77
3. Gene Griffey #1
4. Doug Austin #18
5. Bruce Blessing #10
6. Sam Ferguson #5
7. Kevin Darnell #4
8. Ricky Payne #12
9. Tim Hensley #37
10. Jessica Spangler #07
11.Mike Mays #30

Next race – Friday, September 13th. 

For more information on Kingsport Speedway, visit our website at –

Fresh content and updates can also be found on the tracks Facebook page (@KingsportSpeedway), Twitter (@KpSpeedway), Instagram (@KingsportSpeedway), Snapchat (@KptSpeedway), and YouTube (@KingsportSpeedway).

About Kingsport Speedway

Kingsport Speedway has provided race fans in the Tri-Cities, Tennessee and surrounding areas with exciting short track racing since 1965. The speedway has undergone four surface changes in its 50 plus years of existence. Founded as a dirt track in 1965, the facility transitioned to an asphalt track in 1969, back to dirt track in 1984, and then to its current concrete surface in 1996. In 1968, Kingsport Speedway hosted its first NASCAR event. Currently, Kingsport Speedway is part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series (NWAAS), NASCAR’s grassroots series. The NWAAS sanctions nearly 60 racetracks throughout the United States and Canada in which drivers compete for national, state, and track titles. For more information on Kingsport Speedway, visit Also follow Kingsport Speedway on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Kingsport Speedway

2961 N. John B Dennis Hwy

Kingsport, TN 37660 423-398-1918