Latest News

Home » Asphalt Tracks » Szep Wins Blackford 55 At Shady Bowl Speedway

Szep Wins Blackford 55 At Shady Bowl Speedway

Audio Version Of This Article
Share This:
Shawn Szep

Szep Wins Blackford 55 At Shady Bowl Speedway

Shady Bowl Speedway

Photo Credit: Shady bowl Speedway

DeGraff OH (7/10). It was “Blackford 55 Night” at Shady Bowl Speedway Saturday (7/10). The rural speedway honored the memory of Buster and Bussie Blackford, a father-son late model team who were always a force to be reckoned with at the Bowl. Sadly, both have now passed. Bowl promoter Rick Young holds this event yearly to honor their memory by running this 55-lap race. The 55 relates to the number the Blackford’s always ran.

The entire evening played out under cloudy skies with an off and on very light drizzle near the nights end. A far cry from the blast furnace of the Fourth of July race weekend heat. The Dave Nagel Excavating Late Models kicked off the nights feature action with the Blackford Memorial. Scott Drake led the field into turn one and led the first lap. Marysville Ohio driver Shawn Szep then took over the lead. Szep put on a driving clinic as he led the top five cars thru lapped traffic, with them waiting for a bobble or a mistake from his beautiful #81. Szep cleared the lapped the cars the last time and opened up a lead as the laps wound down. Defending track champion Matt Parsons and former track champion Josh Smith began a battle for second that allowed Szep to open up even a larger lead in his TechnaCom EFS sponsored Chevy. Szep took the checker, ahead of Parsons, Smith, Drake and fast qualifier (13.583) Don Mahaffey Jr. Szep, in victory lane was elated with his first career late model win heaping thanks on crew chief Craig Herron. The Parsons family took the preliminary events with Matt winning the dash Dearl winning the heat.

The Adams Automotive Street Stocks were up next. Second generation driver Jacob Heckman took the lead on lap one, before a crash on lap two stopped the event. Nate Purtee, Rodney Roush and Dylan Hoppes piled up coming off turn two. All drivers were ok, but Hoppes and Roush were eliminated from the event. When racing resumed Heckman again took the lead. On lap seven Austin Eaton pulled alongside and battled Heckman side by side for five laps before Eaton took over the point. Fast qualifier (14.733) Josh Sage ran down Eaton and took over the lead to take the lead on lap 20. Sage, of Piqua went on to post his fourth win of the season and third win in a row in his Harrod Septic Solutions Chevy. Eaton crossed the finish line in second, but failed a post- race inspection and was disqualified. Heckman was second, followed by Rob Schaeff, Nate Purtee and Richard Roush.

The Harrod Septic Solutions Compacts scorched the pavement next. Ben Cartwright took advantage of his front row starting spot to lead the 21 car field the first six counters. Jimmy “ The Podcaster” McElfresh then sped by and led until lap 17. Piqua driver Mike Wintrow then took over the lead and led the final laps in his Jennings Construction Cavalier. McElfresh, Ethan Pope, fast qualifier (16.933) Keven Baggett and Devin Glessner finished second thru fifth. Wintrow carried the dash checker, with David Hughes and Pope winning heats.

Next up was the Noble Armor Coating Crown Vic classes. The powder puff race saw fast qualifier (19.568) Taylor Conley from St Paris. take the win after surviving a late race charge by Bobbie Jo Parsons. Jennifer Noble finished third. In the adult Crown Vics Curtis Noble of Crayon led all the way to notch the win. Tyler Brandyberry, Alex Zerkle and Troy Shepherd rounded out the top finishers.

Szep took the checker, ahead of Parsons, Smith, Drake and fast qualifier (13.583) Don Mahaffey Jr. Szep, in victory lane was elated with his first career late model win

On Saturday July 17th the Bowl will host the Steve Brandyberry Memorial for the Adams Automotive Street Stocks. The 70-lap race will honor the memory of Brandyberry who recently passed away. Steve competed at the Bowl for many years. The race will pay $1700 To win. The Dave Nagel Excavating Late Models, The Wooten Automotive and Towing Modifieds, The Bullet Liner of Dayton Thunder Cars and the Noble Armor Coating Minor Crown Vics will also be on the program. Racing will start at 7.

Shady Bowl Speedway Summary 7/10/21

Dave Nagel Excavating Late Models:

Fast qualifier: Don Mahaffey Jr. 13.583
Dash winner: Matt Parsons
Heat winner: Dearl Parsons

55 lap Blackford Memorial: 1. Shawn Szep 2. Matt Parsons 3. Josh Smith 4. Scott Drake 5. Don Mahaffey Jr. 6. Ryan Fleming 7. Jim Lewis Jr. 8. Kenny George Jr. 9. Tyler Parsons 10. Bill Cantley 11. Scott Lozan 12. Dearl Parsons
Adams Automotive Street Stocks:
Fast qualifier: Josh Sage 14.733

Feature 25 laps: 1. Josh Sage 2. Jacob Heckman 3. Rob Schaeff 4. Nate Purtee 5. Richard Roush 6. Bill Endsley 7. Dylan Hoppes 8. Rodney Roush (Austin Eaton disqualified after failing post-race inspection)
Harod Septic Solutions Compacts:
Fast qualifier: Keven Baggett 16.833
Dash winner: Mike Wintrow

Heat winners: Ethan Pope and Dustin Hughes
Feature 25 laps: 1. Mike Wintrow 2. Jimmy McElfresh 3. Ethan Pope 4. Keven Baggett 5. Devin Glessner 6. Damien Weigel 7. Larry Adams 8. Charlie Hoepker 9. Ben Cartwright 10. Alec Young 11. Michael Litchfield 12. Dusty Harding 13. Aaron Jewell 14. Dustin Hughes 15. Chase Lang 16. Scott Henson 17. JD Werner 18. Donnie Eaton 19. Corey Plunkett 20. Justin Kemp 21. Julian Meeker

Noble Armor Coating Powder Puff Crown Vics:
Fast qualifier: Taylor Conley 19.568
Feature 10 laps: 1. Taylor Conley 2. Bobbie Jo Parsons 3. Jennifer Noble

Noble Armor Coating Adult Crown Vics:
Fast qualifier: Tyler Brandyberry 17.496
Feature 10 laps: 1. Curtis Noble 2. Tyler Brandyberry 3. Alex Zerkle 4. Troy Shepherd

Photo Credit: Shadybowl Speedway

Shady Bowl Speedway


100% Local Oval Track Racing News From Across North America