Latest News

Home » Asphalt Tracks » Mondiek and Sommers Have Hot Hand Heading Into Detjens 125 Saturday at State Park Speedway

Mondiek and Sommers Have Hot Hand Heading Into Detjens 125 Saturday at State Park Speedway

State Park
State Park Speedway Photo

State Park Speedway – Wausau, WI- On the strength of three Super Late Model victories at State Park Speedway, including last Thursday Night strengthening his point lead, Justin Mondiek is amongst the favorites to top a strong field of ARCA Midwest Tour ‘Stars and Cars’ this Saturday night July 25 at State Park Speedway for the Detjens Memorial 125. 2019 Detjens Memorial Winner and Midwest Tour Rookie of the Year Gabe Sommers captured the checkered flag last Saturday night at Jefferson (WI) Speedway and looks to contend once again in the 39th annual event named after Larry Detjens, a short track standout and 1977 SPS Track Champion.

While this pair of Central Wisconsin youngsters continue to put the racing world on notice, a pair of Central Wisconsin veterans look to win an unprecedented fourth Detjens Memorial this Saturday Night. Mark Mackesy, the 1999, 2006 and 2012 Detjens winner is always a threat at State Park Speedway and has already recorded two weekly Super Late Model wins at SPS during 2020. Mackesy wowed the Touring Stars during the Tour’s first visit to SPS in 2011, as the fan favorite recorded his lone Midwest Tour victory. Chris Weinkauf, who has been a regular on the Tour for years is the other three-time Detjens winner entered for Saturday night’s 125 lap feature event. Weinkauf completed the feat in 2003, 2010 and 2011. The 2010 State Park Speedway Champion has one Midwest Tour victory to his credit, coming at Grundy County (IL) Speedway.

A host of touring stars and Champions have filed their entries for State Park Speedway. Defending Tour Champion Casey Johnson was the 2018 Detjens winner and has already won at Wisconsin International Raceway and Slinger (WI) Super Speedway in weekly action this season. Two-Time Tour Champ Dan Fredrickson powered to a third place effort last Thursday Night at SPS, traveling from Minnesota to get his familiar #36 dialed in at a track he has two Midwest Tour wins at. Like Johnson, 2018 titlist Dalton Zehr waisted no time getting back into his winning ways, collecting the winner’s trophy at Dells (WI) Raceway Park earlier this month. 2009 Detjens winner and 2011 Tour Champion Andrew Morrissey flexed his muscles when the tour visited SPS in 2018, dominating the contest on the quarter mile paved oval. After taking a season off to start his son’s racing career, Minnesota’s Jonathan Eilen returns to the ARCA Midwest Tour this season, he was the 2012 Champion.

The ARCA Midwest Tour Super Late Models will be joined Saturday night by the Bandoleros, Mini-Stocks, Mini-Mods and Pure Stocks. Qualifying will get underway at 4:30pm. Racing action includes preliminaries and features in all divisions, with racing starting at 6pm Saturday night. Adult general admission Saturday is $20, Kids (ages 6-12) are $10 with children ages 5 and under admitted free. The two day Detjens Memorial Weekend will feature the Big 8 Late Model Series on Friday night along with the Bandoleros, Mini-Stocks and Mini-Mods. State Park Speedway is located at 5711 North Mountain Road in Wausau. For camping and other information visit or call 715-212-9006.

Expected Entries
Detjens Memorial 125
ARCA Midwest Tour
Saturday July 25,
State Park Speedway, Wausau, WI

30 as of 7/20/20

Car #NameHometownStateSponsorMake
2Gregory BorchardtPrior LakeMNDan’s Auto/Turnkey Boatworks/Schaeffer’s Racing OilChevrolet
4Luke FenhausWausauWIKulwicki DDP/Accu-Mix Concrete & Trucking/Ave MtsptsChevrolet
5John BealeVeronaWIGildan/American Apparel/Comfort Colors/Prim + Preux/AMSChevrolet
6Eric WhiteSt. JohnINReliable Recovery ServicesToyota
7John DeAngelis, JrHubertusWIDeAngelis Construction/D+H DemolitionFord
7Paul Shafer, JrPortageINPaul’s Auto YardsChevrolet
12Mark MackesyWausauWIBull Falls Brewery/Northwest Tool & Mfg/Joe Rader TowingFord
13Andrew BrockerJeffersonWIAmerican State EquipmentChevrolet
14Austin NasonRoscoeILMontgomery Ward/Haase Builders/JRS Shocks/Kar KornerFord
15Gabe SommersPloverWIDeKalb/Kwik Trip/Tasteful Selections Potatoes/Allied Co-opToyota
18Michael OstdiekLakevilleMNHospitality/IMS Contracting/Luhman’s Const/Weichert RealtorsToyota
22MG GajewskiWausauWITiffin Motorhomes/King’s Campers/KZ TowablesChevrolet
25Jeff StormEast TroyWIGreat Lakes Components/Duramax Trucking/All Pro MechanicalChevrolet
36Dan FredricksonLakevilleMNHerman’s Landscape Supply/Justman FreightToyota
39Andrew MorrisseyDeForestWIB&B Racing Engines/MRI, Inc Chassis & FabricationFord
40Jeremy LepakPloverWIR&J Auto/Mike Winter ConstructionDodge
44Justin MondeikGleasonWIAGRA Industries/Aqua Finance/Industrial Accessories CompanyChevrolet
45Rich Bickle, JrEdgertonWIT1 Racing/Wegner Automotive/Barnyard to BrickyardChevrolet
47Casey JohnsonEdgertonWIMontgomery Ward/Hougan Farms/UAW Region 4Chevrolet
50Jake GilleWinnebagoILHG Plumbing/BG Oils/Tiry’s Race EnginesChevrolet
52Brock HeinrichWausauWIUnited Structures/PGA Inc/Northern Trail Express/Zilisch AsphaltChevrolet
75Chris WeinkaufMerrillWIBreber Music/Walter & Sons Waste Hauling/Wehrs MachineChevrolet
75Dillon HammondGrand MarshWIHammond  Auto Mauston, WIChevrolet
76Jason WeinkaufMerrillWIProfessional Drywall/VanDerGeest Cattle/Tiry’sChevrolet
76Travis VolmKronenwetterWINew Life Ink/Bob’s ElectricChevrolet
77Jonathan EilenHamptonMNEilen & Sons Trucking & Landscape/Graber Auto BodyFord
78Skylar HolzhausenBangorWIKempf Logging/Wehrs Machine/Fechner MotorsFord
80Ryan FarrellBig BendWILingford Construction & Transport/Able PlumbingChevrolet
93Dave SatoriusAppletonWIFabel’s Carstar Auto Body/Fabel Truck Repair/United SteelworkersFord
119Dalton ZehrDaytona BeachFLGildan/American Apparel/Comfort Colors/Prim + Preux/AMSChevrolet

Past Detjens Memorial Winners
2019 Gabe Sommers
2018 Casey Johnson
2017 Chris Wimmer (2)
2016 Derek Kraus
2015 Johnny Sauter
2014 Tim Sauter (2)
2013 Tim Sauter
2012 Mark Mackesy (3)
2011 Chris Weinkauf (3)
2010 Chris Weinkauf (2)
2009 Andrew Morrissey (Golden Sands)
2008 Not Run
2007 Not Run
2006 Mark Mackesy (2)
2005 Allen Check
2004 Charlie Menard
2003 Chris Weinkauf
2002 Scott Wimmer (2)
2001 Scott Wimmer
2000 Chris Wimmer
1999 Mark Mackesy
1998 Jesse Hasse
1997 Donnie Woller (3)
1996 Wayne Breitenfeldt (2)
1995 Kirby Kurth (2)
1994 Donnie Woller (2)
1993 Joe Krzykowski
1992 Kirby Kurth
1991 Donnie Woller
1990 Bryan Reffner
1989 Wayne Breitenfeldt
1987 Tom Reffner (2)
1986 Kevin Cywinski
1985 Dick Trickle (3)
1984 Tom Reffner
1983 Kevin Stepan
1982 Dick Trickle (2)
1981 Dick Trickle