Latest News

Home » Dirt Tracks » USMTS forced to cancel annual awards banquet

USMTS forced to cancel annual awards banquet

Share This:

USMTS forced to cancel annual awards banquet

USMTS forced to cancel annual awards banquet

By Jeff Nun

WEBSTER CITY, Iowa (November 23)—Due to ongoing restrictions related to COVID-19 imposed by governing officials, a USMTS awards banquet to celebrate the 2020 racing season will not take place.

“We waited as long as we could to see how this pandemic would play out,” said USMTS president Todd Staley. “Unfortunately, it’s not feasible to host a large get-together this year.”

Alternatively, the plan from USMTS officials calls for other ways to recognize those drivers, crew members and sponsors who made the 2020 season an exciting and successful one against all odds.

Among other things, the USMTS—along with their partners at RacinDirt—will produce videos highlighting each driver who finished in the top 10 in the final points standings of the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s.

That list includes Rodney Sanders, Dereck Ramirez, Jason Hughes, Zack VanderBeek, Terry Phillips, Tyler Davis, Tanner Mullens, Casey Skyberg, Joe Duvall and Adam Kates.

While Sanders captured his fourth USMTS crown, Mullens earned the Grant Junghans Rookie of the Year Award. Sanders also claimed the season-long FK Rod Ends Hard Charger Award.

Another four-time titlist, Jason Hughes thwarted Sanders’ sweep of the special awards by nailing down the overall Eibach Spring Forward Award.

For the second straight season, Sanders also helped carry Hatfield Racing Engines to the USMTS Engine Builder of the Year Award and MB Customs Race Cars to another Manufacturers Championship.

Live interviews, feature articles and photo galleries celebrating the 2020 campaign are among the items that USMTS fans can look forward to over the next couple of months at and on the organizations social media platforms on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Keep up to speed by joining the USMTS email list

By Jeff Nun


100% Local Oval Track Racing News From Across North America